Will Kirkpatrick
Men's & Women's Running, Walking & Jogging Shoes and Clothing at Road Runner Sports w/ Free Shipping!
Best Price Guarantee: Feel Great VIP! ALL Your VIP Benefits apply every day

Will Kirkpatrick

Will Kirkpatrick

Dear Mrs. Gotfredson,
My name is Will. I have spina bifida. I am 9 years old. I love to play wheelchair basketball. I have a brother that is 7 years old and his name is David. We live in Birmingham, Alabama. I would really like a handcycle because I can ride it when my brother is riding his bike.

Will Kirkpatrick
January, 2006

Dear Ms. Gotfredson,
I am writing concerning your grant for a handcycle for my son Will. He is an active 9 year old in the 3rd grade in Birmingham, Alabama. Will was born in April of 1996 with spina bifida. He required a surgery to close his back on the second day of life and had another operation on the third day of life to insert a shunt. He has had many surgeries in his short life but he is a great kid that loves life.
He began swimming at Lakeshore Foundation the day before his first birthday and has been active in several sports since then. He was on the track and field team for two years and wheelchair basketball team for the last two years. Wheelchair sports are a wonderful outlet and activity for our son.
He would really enjoy having a handcycle. He has a younger brother that loves to ride bikes and a handcycle would help him to keep up with the bikers in the neighborhood as well as be a great form of exercise. Thanks so much for your consideration and for your program.

Maryhelen Kirkpatrick

Back to previous page