Kyle Schaefer
Men's & Women's Running, Walking & Jogging Shoes and Clothing at Road Runner Sports w/ Free Shipping!
Best Price Guarantee: Feel Great VIP! ALL Your VIP Benefits apply every day

Kyle Schaefer

Kyle Schaefer

Hello, my name is Kyle Schaefer and I'm going to tell you a little about myself. I was born with Spina Bifida and use a wheelchair most of the time to get around in.

I feel I can do almost anything most regular kids can do. I live in Fort Wayne, Indiana with my mom and dad and two brothers. I am the middle child and I am 12. I love baseball and back a couple of years ago, I got to meet the entire Atlanta Braves team. I'd like to move to Atlanta after I graduate from high school and go to college there to study to be a marine biologist. I love Atlanta because my godparents live there.

I have played wheelchair basketball at Turnstone for a couple of years now, but couldn't this year because of a surgery I had to have back in October. I plan on playing again later this year. I have had my picture taken by quite a few people for different things. I must be pretty photogenic! I did a photo shoot for Turnstone a while ago, then I was in a fund raising video for them, my dad too! I also did a photo shoot and video at my school last year for Riley's Hospital.

I also was in a play at my school this year. I didn't play a big part, but I had a lot of fun. I will be going to summer camp this year in July for 2 weeks at Camp Riley. I've been going there every year now since I was 7 I think. I LOVE IT!! This year Riley's is writing a story about me and my experiences at camp. I think they really like me.

My family is the greatest family in the world. My brothers play sports with me all the time and give me lots of attention...they are the best! I also have a pet, a very tiny dog named Zeus. He is a Yorkshire Terrier and I love him a lot.

Well, I hope you enjoyed learning a little bit about me and my family. I am excited about maybe receiving one of your bikes. I love being outdoors with my brothers and this would give me a chance to do more with them.

Thank you for thinking of me.

Kyle Schaefer
Spring 2005

Hello, my name is Shelley Schaefer and I am the parent of a child with Spina Bifida. His name is Kyle, he is 12 and he is our middle son. My husband and I also have two other children, Ryan, age 16 and Justin, age 11.

Kyle uses a wheelchair to get around the majority of the time. He is going to be fitted for new braces this summer and hopefully we'll get him back to doing some short distance walking.

Kyle loves being outdoors and would do really well with one of these bikes. He loves going around the neighborhood to visit our neighbors and his friends Ben and Sarah who live nearby. It would be so wonderful to see him get around with one of your bikes.

As Kyle matures, he is very limited in his activities outdoors in his wheelchair. This bike would give him very much needed exercise and encouragement to ride around this summer.

Please consider Kyle for one of the bikes. When Kyle outgrows it, we would donate it to Turnstone Center for disabled Children and in Fort Wayne. Kyle went to Turnstone as an infant, all the way up until he entered kindergarten. He loved it there and they are a top notch facility.

Rick & Shelley Schaefer

Back to previous page